browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

About Us

The Fly Fishers of Virginia (FFV) was established in 1982 to promote the art of fly rod fishing; to foster good sportsmanship; and to promote conservation of the nation’s natural resources.

During the year, six dinner meetings are occasions for

 informational programs pertaining to the many aspects of fly fishing and conservation activities. Programs are presented by international and local experts and celebrities in the fly fishing world, as well as knowledgeable FFV members.

Fishing trips are scheduled each year for cold water, warm water, and saltwater species.

Fly fishing dinners, seminars, and workshops are booked periodically.

Fly tying classes are offered each winter: Beginning, Intermediate, or Advanced, depending on demand. Casting clinics are also available.

The club is an affiliate of the Federation of Fly Fishers and also gives financial support to several conservation and fly fishing related organizations, including: the Atlantic Salmon Federation; American Museum of Fly Fishing; the Catskill Fly Fishing Center; The Chesapeake Bay Foundation; and the Brotherhood of the Jungle Cock.



Fly Fishers of Virginia Officers and Directors for 2021

PRESIDENT: David Skove
VP Fishing Activities: Dick Chapman
VP Conservation Activities: Clay Hardin
VP Membership: Chuck Davis
Secretary: Gary Green
Treasurer: JoAnn Lindstrom-Gibbens
Director at Large: Phil Johnson
Director at Large: Dale Clark
Director at Large: Larry Baron
Director at Large: Millie Neagle

Director at Large: Tony Scrimizzi
PHW Coordinator: Andy Cox
Technical Director: Brian Trow
Technical Director: Colby Trow
Webmeister: Doug Walden
Director of Communications: Robert Thomas


FFV Past Presidents

Grayson Harding – 2019, 2020

Tom Mlot – 2017, 2018

Jay Armstrong – 2015, 2016

Steve Lewis – 2013, 2014

Ken Eastwood – 2011, 2012

Robert Thomas – 2009, 2010

Larry Cortright- 2007, 2008

Dan Genest – 2005, 2006

Richard Roadcap – 2003, 2004

Doug Walden – 2001, 2002

H.W. Leathers – 1999, 2000

Bill Pearsall – 1997, 1998

Carl R. Fisher – 1995, 1996

Sam Goodpasture – 1993, 1994

David E. Bagby – 1991, 1992

Charles Ellis – 1989, 1990

Taylor Turner – 1987, 1988

George Crosby, Jr. – 1985, 1986

Nat T. R. Burgwyn – 1982, 1983, 1984

FFV Founding Members

Nat T. R. Burgwyn

Kenny A. Grandstaff, II

George Crosby, Jr.

Beverly R. Tucker III


Need to contact us? postofficemailbox


Snail Mail Information:

Fly Fishers of Virginia

P.O. Box 29477

Richmond, VA 23242